With the vPlan timeline, you can plan cards from the backlog. These cards then become bars in the timeline. These bars can be moved, lengthened, shortened or moved as a collection.
Planning from the backlog
If you want to plan in the timeline, start at the backlog. Open the backlog by clicking on the backlog button in the top right corner of vPlan.
From the backlog, drag a card to the timeline and release the card on the planning board.
The start date on the card is determined based on the start day of the last planned card in the phase where you released the card, as you can see in the example below:
Based on the activities, the card is divided into bars over the phases. You can now move, lengthen or shorten the bars in the planning. This is explained in the sections below:
Moving the bar
When you want to move a bar, you can do this simply by picking up the bar and moving it to the desired date. Note that you have to change both the start and end date. When you grab a bar with your mouse, your cursor will get the icon below:
You can use a bar only to the left or right. Here you will see below that the start and end date will be adjusted.
Make the bar smaller or larger
Besides the fact that you can move the bar as a whole, you can also easily make the bar shorter or longer. You can do this by standing at the beginning or end with your cursor. Your cursor will then change to the icon below:
When you make the strip smaller or larger, you will automatically see that the date of the bar is adjusted. When you release the bar, the date will be fixed.
Moving the collection
A collection can of course consist of multiple bars when you work with multiple stages for example. you can easily select all the cards within a collection, to be able to see for example the walk-through. When you have selected the collection, you can also move all the bars at the same time.
To do so, click on the ball to the right of the bar.
When you click on it, the lines between all the cards in the collection will be shown. When you now move a bar, all bars (without status) will automatically move the same number of days.
To disable the selection you can click on the dot again, press the Escape (Esc) key or click on the cross in the upper right corner.